Meet “Chester Lake”…

Oppy has pulled up just in front of a roughly heart-shaped slab of exposed bedrock which has been christened “Chester Lake” by the MER team (I’m really not at all sure about christening martian features with names that include watery words like ‘lake’, you know; it’s almost guaranteed to get the Woo Woo’s thinking “I knew it!ย  They’re almost admitting there’s water on Mars, so there must be life there too, and they must know about it!!”)…

And what does this landscape feature look like up close and personal? A little – actually, a lot – like this…

Now, that is not, let me stress, a “true colour” image of “Chester Lake”. That’s been enhanced and sharpened to bring out subtle details on the rock’s surface and in its surroundings. And on it we can see that “Chester Lake” has pits and grooves, cracks and fissures, and more. I think Oppy will be studying this rock for a few days, at least, maybe with some images through the microscope, so stay tuned for more news and views… ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet “Chester Lake”…

  1. belmontguy says:

    I think what’s most interesting about the Chester Lake color photo is the the ground most closest to the rock appears smooth. Is that just very fine sand, or mud??!

  2. Keep at it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your blog. Check you at least twice / day

  3. great pic lots of detail on Chester Lake (know what you mean) what a pity I cant have one of those little pieces of rock!…. but better to have seen than never to have seen…the MER team and Geologist’s must be having a field day.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Ildiko Ross says:

    I guess I am in a minority because as a Canadian I am getting quite a kick out of the the naming of “Stoughton”, “Chester Lake”, “Tisdale” and especially “HBC”!

    Stu, your anaglyphs take me to Mars and the rim of Endeavour crater and I enjoy your palette on the colourizations, as well as the descriptions. You have pointed out a lot of interesting stuff!

Leave a comment