Move out, Oppy…

Oppy is on the move again! Having spent the past week or so studying an area of rock christened “Valadero”, photographing it in great detail – and beautiful colour – she has now, it appears from the latest pictures, driven further along the ‘coast’ of Cape York, heading roughly north east. I’m now not sure she’ll go take a look at Whim Creek, but I still hope she does, because I think the geology there looks interesting. But we’ll have to wait and see.

In the meantime, Oppy has been sending back some more lovely images of Mars, which I’ve used to create the following views…

That layered rock appears to have been christened “Cortez” by the MER team. Beautiful layering visible on and in it. You’re looking at something very, very old there… The same is true for this next 3D image. As I often say, please click on it to enlarge it and then, after donning your red/blue glasses, just scroll and scan around it, looking at the different shapes, structures and forms, because there’s some beautifulworks of natural martian art in that scene…

But where is Oppy now? Well, she now has a much better view of Cape Tribulation and the hills to the south and south east of Cape York…

That appears to be the direction will Oppy drive in next, i.e. down the other side of Cape York. And it helps us pin down Oppy’s approximate new location…

Looking the other way, she can see this view…

Obviously that crater is going to call out to the science team VERY loudly – craters are cool – but my eye was caught by this mini outcrop now behind Oppy…

Going back in time just a little while, here’s a new colour view of the hole Oppy drilled out of the rocky plate “Grasburg”…

…and finally, a close-up, enhanced view of some sections of a fractured gyspum vein Oppy drove over on her way downhill from Greeley Haven…

More images due back soon, but the next post will be a very special interview with a MER scientist we haven’t spoken to before, but has some fascinating insights into the mission to share with us…! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Move out, Oppy…

  1. Harald Wolf says:

    I want to thank you again for everything you share – the great reports and photos, but especially the r/b 3D images! The 1st one above is incredible! I have a lazy eye and therefore cannot deal with the split (cross-eye) 3D images others post. I visit daily hoping for yet another treat!

  2. starbuck5250 says:

    Stu, my soon to be 10 year-old was fooling around, wearing a pair of red-blue glasses when I came home from work and the instant I saw that I came here and called him over. As I scrolled down through the photos, the moment one of your 3-D images came up, he said ‘Whoa, cool!’ before I had a chance to ask him how it looked. We went through a bunch of them and he reports they look great. Although I myself can’t fuse the images, I am very happy to report that you have another happy customer for your 3-D work.

    Kudos!

Leave a Reply

