Thank you!

While we all recover from yesterday’s exciting events, and wait for the next batch of images to come back from Mars, I just want to take a moment to thank everyone who reads and mentions this blog. RtE is almost three years old now, I started it not too long after Oppy turned her back on Victoria and started to head south towards Endeavour, a trek many people thought she would never complete. Hundreds of posts and many hundreds of images later, here we are, at Endeavour, and RtE has a very healthy readership, with lots of people “spreading the word” about it on Twitter and Facebook, and more. I never expected that, I thought maybe a few dozen rover huggers like myself would drop in, now and again, to see my latest pictures. But yesterday RtE had an incredible 3,310 hits! A lot of those – almost a thousand, actually – came from a piece on the npr website written by Bill Chappell so thank you to him!

But really, my thanks to everyone who’s ever had anything to do with RtE. To the readers and reTweeters, to the MER scientists (special thanks to Scott, of course!) and experts and to everyone else, thank you!

And by the way, following all the positive and very generous feedback I’ve received (thanks everyone who took the time to get in touch!), I’m going to keep “Road To Endeavour” going just the way it is, and not start another, new blog. So, if you want to keep up to date with Oppy’s exploration of Endeavour Crater, you’re already in the right place. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thank you!

  1. TM says:

    Thank you too 🙂 I really enjoy reading your blog imho its one of the best blogs out there in the wild.

  2. TM says:

    I forgot telling you: I am a regular reader of your blog since the very first post!

  3. J. Major says:

    Excellent exposure Stu! Well-deserved. Thanks for taking us on this journey with Oppy!

  4. I’ve just been on this journey for a couple of months and cant understand why it took me so long ….well done Stu…..I’m one of the 3310 ….happy days Oppy.. 🙂

  5. Phil says:

    “The Road [In]to Endeavour”?? 🙂

    I can only echo the above sentiments Stu. If everybody was as good as this stuff as you are (and I speak as someone who has just taught a science journalism course, and been generally appalled at what I saw), I’m convinced the world would be a better place.

    Oh, and p.s. How about that central mound eh? Can one fantasise about Oppy eventually venturing out there too? Greedy I know 🙂

    p

  6. joem says:

    Gracias!!!!
    Yes, thanks you from hundreds of amateur space exploration Spanish speakers (Sondasespaciales) who follow with interest your detailed and excellent reviews of the rovers.
    Gracias 🙂

  7. Over at Indie Albany, we’ve been rooting for Oppy as much as we applaud you for your exceptional coverage of her trek over the past three years. The mission itself has been thrilling . . . but your communication of the story and images has made it even more so. Bravo!

  8. QtM says:

    Thanks for the site. I’ve been visiting it at least weekly for a few years now!

  9. Xavier says:

    Thanks to you . After those three years reading “Road To Endeavour” from the Spanish Pyrenees.
    Very, very, good job !

Leave a Reply

