Revisiting some old friends…

This is a slightly off-topic post ( but a) I don’t think most people will mind, and b) it’s my blog, so if you do mind, then stuff you! 🙂 ) but I’ve been going through the PDS data again today, looking for images of objects and places visited by Oppy during her time on Mars, and have found some real beauties which I thought I’d share here…

That’s “Heat Shield Rock”, an iron meteorite found – as its name subtly suggests – close to the remains of Oppy’s heat shield. Here are a couple of pics of the heat shield itself…

…and a 3D view I’ve tweaked a bit to make it look a bit more, well, dramatic… 🙂

Later, of course, Oppy reached Victoria Crater and then, after exploring its west side thoroughly, headed south, on the start of her long, epic trek to Endeavour Crater. Pretty soon she was finding more meteorites in her path, like this one, “Mackinac Island”…

Here’s a different view, from around the other side, and I have to be honest, this is one of my favourite things seen on Mars during the whole MER mission, and one of my most favourite EVER images taken on Mars…

Oppy is now steaming – in rover terms! – towards Endeavour. WIll she find more meteorites dropped in her path? I hope so, I think they’re fascinating – and beautiful too, almost abstract works of martian art. But we’ll have to wait and see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Revisiting some old friends…

  1. Buck says:

    The heat shield looks like a Cylon’s chin.

    Great photos.

Leave a Reply

