The Hills in all their glory…

Some new images came back from Oppy yesterday that FINALLY allowed me to make a full, higher-resolution portrait of the (now famous) “Chocolate Hills”. If you click on the image below you’ll see a much bigger version appear, which will show you all the Hills’ layers, fracture fill covering and berries in all their glory…

I have to be honest, I’m really proud of that mosaic, I think it’s one of the best I’ve ever done. The Chocolate Hills have quickly become my favourite rocks seen by Oppyu since she trundled around Wopmay back – waaaay back – in Endurance crater.

Also seen by Oppy recently, was this rather interesting chunk of ancient martian stone…

Tell you what’s interesting – look at this enlarged crop of the previous image and you can see just how long some of the berries’ stalks are by looking at their shadows…

I wonder how long it will be before Oppy moves on? Not that I’m impatient for that – every day Oppy spends *anywhere* now is a blessing! – I’m just curious for a closer look at that darker, more rounded rock over there

No way Oppy will actually be able to drive up to it, of course, not with all those other rocks so close to it, but I’m sure Oppy’s drivers will want to get at least a little closer to see it in more detail, as it just looks so different to everything else in the area.

As usual, we’ll see! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

