3D Chocolate Hills…

Oppy’s latest drive was only a short one, but it put her in a position that allowed her to take some lovely close-up views of the “Chocolate Hills”… which in turn allowed me to make some new 3D images of them! Click on the images below to bring up full size versions…

UPDATE:

When I checked the galleries of pictures taken by a pair of the rover’s hazard avoidance cameras, or “HAZCAMs”, I found some more images that could be made into 3D views… these are definitely amongst the most striking 3D pics I’ve made during the whole MER mission…!

And I saw something else very cool yesterday. LIke most bloggers, I often wonder if there’s anybody “out there” reading and looking at this stuff. Well, I saw this on Twitter, so it looks like there is!

Thanks @nearvanna for looking at my 3D pics! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 3D Chocolate Hills…

  1. Rick says:

    Mey!! Ypur site is awesome. Every day when I scan the MER site I check out your site. Thank you for your hard work. You make my day!!!

  2. Rick says:

    Awesome site!! I check it every day. THANK YOU!!

  3. Jose L. Serrano says:

    I got here from Bad Astronomy, cool site you have here, thanks for these pics, they are awesome

  4. Maximus says:

    Your 3D pictures are stunning… I’m sharing them with my Twitter and Facebook friends. This is probably as close as most of us will ever get to walking on the surface of another world. Thank you! Keep up the great work! And if you get a chance, perhaps you could explain a bit about how the image pairs used for the 3D views are generated.

Leave a Reply

