Concepcion – almost there..!

Wow! Look at that! One more good drive and Oppy should be rolling up to the shattered rim of Concepcion Crater! 🙂

Overnight some great new images came down from Oppy, taken with its Panoramic cameras, and they show a lot of – very tantalising! – detail around and inside the crater: a LOT of rocks, all lying and standing at different jumbled, crazy angles. I hope someone on the MER team has a “Big Book of Names For Big Martian Rocks” ‘cos they’re gonna need it after tomorrow…! 🙂

Some new 3D views – enjoy! (and if you DO enjoy, drop me a line to let me know! I’m always happy to hear that there’s someone Out There reading this stuff!)

There’s something else visible on the new images too – more of Iazu Crater, which is actually farther south than Endeavour! The air (well, what there is of it, haha!) must be pretty clear over Meridiani right now to allow our ‘gal to see that far…

The hills of Iazu stand out more clearly if you stretch the image vertically a little bit with computer trickery…

What will the next set of images show? Come back here tomorrow to find out! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Concepcion – almost there..!

  1. Johnpv says:

    Hey, i’ve been reading your blog lately! Nice job! I understand you make most of the 3D pics yourself, that takes some dedication and effort 🙂
    (Too bad i have no 3D glasses 😦 ) That was a cool map you made on the previous post too (i assume Conception is in-between the present Oppy position and Endeavour?)!

    Btw, JPL had a news release on the 21st about Marquette which sheds some light into the reasons why Marquette was so interesting. http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/news/news.cfm?release=2010-023

    Ride on!

  2. Astro0 says:

    Another great chapter in the ‘Road to Endeavour’ saga.
    Nice images Stu…love your anaglyh work.

  3. tom says:

    Yeah man 😉 I DO enjoy this blog a lot. I guess I am one of your regular readers… As guess that’s because I am such a big fan of the rovers. But your blog is great! Makes me feel as if I was on the Mars myself.

    ggreetings, Tom

  4. dmitri says:

    Thank you very much for this blog – one of the most interesting travel-stories ever. Born in ’76, I still can hardly believe the journey’s real and that I myself, sitting at home, can see all those mind-blowing pictures from the planet I used to read about in those sy-fy books. It’s the year 2010 and you help me realize I live in the future. Actually many of my friends here in Russia are following Oppy on her way. Thank you very much again!!! Best regards from Moscow.

Leave a Reply

