“Two Views” follow-up

In my previous post I showed two pictures, one of Mars, the other of Ullswater, a lake here in the Cumbrian lake District where Stella and I went camping at the weekend. I just put those two pictures together because I thought there was a nice contrast between them – one showed faraway hills with a lake in the front of them, the other showed faraway hills with a sea of dry dust in front of them. I wasn’t trying for anything profound… but I’ve discovered a pretty amazing coincidence…

I took that photo (actually about half a dozen different photos, stitched together) of Ullswater at around 3pm on Sunday afternoon, April 10th, about half an hour after we’d arrived at the camp site and set up our magnificent tent. When I used a special website that “decodes” the names of images sent back by the Mars rovers ( http://www.greuti.ch/oppy/html/filenames_ltst.htm¬†) I found that the images I used to make that portrait of Endeavour’s faraway hills were taken on… Sunday afternoon… at around 2.53pm…!! So, given that I started taking my photos just before 3pm, it turns out that Oppy and I were taking our images at almost exactly the same time, so those two scenes, on worlds many millions of miles apart,¬†were captured on camera almost simultaneously…!

Wow… now that makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up… :-)

So, with this in mind, I’ve used the two images for something a little more, well, special. I hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Two Views” follow-up

  1. Tom says:

    Could be used as one of those shots of the ancient Mars when it had water!

  2. Buck says:

    How incredible!

Leave a Reply

